What’s Your Late Policy? Why?

My late policy is to accept it with a 10% reduction off the top of the grade. If it is handed in later than a day I usually don’t accept the work. I mainly operate under these guidelines because students tend to procrastinate and complete massive amounts of work at the last-minute in an attempt to pass. Being an educator you understand that these actions make it extremely difficult to grade efficiently.

However, I make exceptions for students if the late or missed work would impair their grade for the trimester. For example, if a project is worth a lot of points or it is the only project I’m giving for the trimester. I’m uncertain what my colleagues’ late policy is but it’s worth finding out. From an aerial perspective it is best for the student if every teachers’ policy varied. Rigidity creates a challenging learning environment.

Tagged , , ,

Leave a comment